Qantas deepens links with American Airlines and Finnair

09 April 2002

Qantas is expanding its working relationships with oneworld™ partners American Airlines and Finnair as it continues to build on the alliance's benefits.

With its US partner, it has expanded the number of US domestic services covered by their code-sharing agreement by around 50 per cent. The QF code is placed on AA flights serving Boston, Chicago, Dallas/ Fort Worth, Honolulu Las Vegas, Los Angeles, Miami, New York, Newark, Oakland, Phoenix, San Diego, San Francisco, San Jose, Toronto and Washington.

Frequencies on three established routes have been substantially increased: New York – 10 flights a day servicing both John F Kennedy and Newark airports; San Francisco – seven daily return services; Las Vegas – four daily return services.

Other Qantas services from Honolulu connect with American Airlines' services from Los Angeles, San Francisco, Dallas/Fort Worth, Chicago and San Jose

American Airlines code-shares on 115 Qantas services a week to nine destinations, from the USA to Australia, on trans-Tasman services, within New Zealand and to Australian cities.

Meantime, Qantas and Finnair have improved services between their Sydney and Helsinki hubs by launching a new code-share service, on a daily basis via Bangkok.

Across the South Pacific, as previously announced, Qantas will code-share on new LanChile flights between the two airlines' bases, Sydney and Santiago, launched three times a week from 1 July, via Auckland. At Santiago, passengers will be able to connect to LanChile's extensive South American network, including Argentina and Brazil. This new code-share arrangement will replace Qantas' own flights to Buenos Aires.

Qantas' longest established bilateral agreement with a oneworld partner is with British Airways. The two airlines operate a joint services agreement (JSA) covering schedules, marketing and pricing co-ordination on the "kangaroo route" between Australia, South East Asia, the UK and Europe, and code-share on flights to 39 cities in 14 countries